Author Topic: Grr. AT&T. Grrr.  (Read 5231 times)

begood

• Handlebar Stache
Grr. AT&T. Grrr.
« on: May 20, 2014, 12:37:49 PM »
My username should be "MissGullible". I'm pretty new to this whole Mustachian thing, and WOW I wish I'd discovered it sooner! I've got lots of places to whittle down and cut, and one of those places is our cell phone bill.

We are spending too much on cell service. We know that. I recently dropped the number of shared Anytime minutes to 550 to save $10/month, but I'd like to do more than that. Problem is... my husband has 17 months to go on his iPhone 5S contract, and I just learned today that although the AT&T local store where I got my daughter's $10/month flip phone last fall assured me it wouldn't be on a two-year contract... it is. Dang it!

Obviously, I should have read the fine print. Of course I should have. I am trusting by nature. I just TRUST that when someone says, "Oh, no, ma'am, this phone won't be under contract," it, you know, WON'T BE. Grr.

So it would cost $118 to get her phone out of contract. It would cost $265 to get my husband's out of contract. Total potential moolah outlay to switch providers now: $383.

I am considering changing to Consumer Cellular (because, again with the TRUST thing, it's connected to AARP, so I figure at a minimum they must have decent customer service). It looks like I could take the 5S and my 4S over there with free SIM exchange. We'd probably have to buy our daughter a phone. I would hope we could all keep our numbers, but I'd have to call them and see.

I ran the Wireless Calculator that the amazing (and patient, OMG, he's so patient) I.P. Daley links in his superduperstupdendousjustreaditwhydon'tyou tech guide:

http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/share-your-badassity/communications-tech-son-of-the-superguide!/

It looks like it would take us anywhere from 6 months to a year to recoup those costs, depending on where we land next, then from that point on, we'd be saving money every month.