Author Topic: Graduated with a good job and frugal instincts... what next?  (Read 4154 times)

frugalaltruist

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hey folks,

I'm new to the MMM community, but I've been raised on it all my life. I grew up with frugal parents who set a wonderful example; they washed and re-used plastic bags, kept bees, and took me on awesome/extravagant trips to foreign countries on a shoestring budget. They also introduced me to MMM's 90s forerunner, Amy Dacyzyn ("The Frugal Zealot"); by the age of 12 or so I'd read through her books and internalized her lessons.

Thanks to my parents' wonderful support I ended up going to a well-regarded liberal arts school in the northeast. I graduated with no debt and, even better, a solid software engineering/support job in the Midwest (despite my lack of software background).

"So what's this kid got to complain about?" you ask. And you're right. Overall, my life's been really great so far, and I'm hoping to turn that greatness into something that will benefit not only me but ideally a bunch of other people too. (I'll post about effective altruism later on - something I'm strongly passionate about.)

I'm currently most of the way through the Mr. Money Mustache articles (starting from the beginning, I'm up to January 2014). Right now I'm sharing a medium cost apartment with another employee at my company; I don't own a car and my city is bike friendly. While I haven't worked up to biking to work (about 8 miles) yet, I've been riding with my roommate, and I've been biking everywhere else (groceries etc.). I've set a loose rule for myself as well - I can't buy any precooked food (or eat out), so I'm forced to learn to cook meals myself, which I'm gradually getting better at.

The main thing I'm looking for advice on is what to work on next. Right now I see a couple of areas that could use some work, and that I could use some advice on: