Author Topic: Graduated college. MIS degree. How to score a "Real" job in IT?  (Read 2111 times)

zoochadookdook

• Pencil Stache
Graduated college. MIS degree. How to score a "Real" job in IT?
« on: January 15, 2019, 09:38:09 PM »
Hey all, so aside from being self employed to pay my way through college and my first house the past 4 years I have not held formal employment. It's not bad-I flip laptops and such-but I have no 401k match, no health insurance, never going to make over 40k etc etc.

I take it back-there was a 3 month Data Scientist internship I completed summer 2018. I worked on our schools erp, came up with a project (SIC code fix) and implemented it.

I graduated college last month and have finally started looking for a entry level job. I have a decent grasp on DB work/relational rules, queries, sql and some admin stuff using VMs with MS server/kali pen testing. I also have project management experience in MS project. I'm a self starter, if I don't know something I do some research and get it done (did my roof via youtube and working side jobs to learn, Helpdesk my entire gyms network including all the members laptops etc).

I have no idea what job I should look for/apply to. I have been applying to local government IT support jobs and have gotten shut down several times due to lack of experience. My only real stipulation is that I need to make at least 50k/have room to move up in the future with healthcare and (hopefully) a 401k match. I've been using handshake to sort applications but there seems to be internships and jobs that require 3+ years in the field. No real in between.

Any advice? I'm interested in pretty much open to anything business related with IT.

Gone_Hiking

• Stubble
Re: Graduated college. MIS degree. How to score a "Real" job in IT?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2019, 10:26:19 PM »