Author Topic: Good Work-from-Home opportunities?  (Read 7459 times)

JPWI

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Good Work-from-Home opportunities?
« on: April 09, 2014, 10:51:34 AM »
Hey all,

My wife is a teacher and is currently hating it in a big way. She's decided it's not worth going back next year for another round of it.  We live in a pretty small town, so there are not a ton of local options, so I'm wondering if anyone knows of good jobs (rather than these scams you read about) that would allow her to work from home for a company or other organization that does not need to be in our town? 

Have any of you experienced or heard of honest, 'real', work from home jobs (that ideally pay decent)?

Thanks much

kkbmustang

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Good Work-from-Home opportunities?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2014, 01:21:02 PM »
I work from home for clients all over the United States. I'm a freelance writer (legal, business and tax). If your wife is interested in freelance writing, she can go to www.thewellfedwriter.com and www.makealivingwriting.com to get started. All she needs is a laptop and possibly a printer. I'm not sure if that's what you had in mind, but it's an option.

She can also pet sit, house sit, babysit, tutor, etc. in your home town.

HairyUpperLip

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2014, 03:05:29 PM »
Online teacher for those online colleges maybe?

nereo

• Senior Mustachian
    • Here's how you can support science today:
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2014, 03:11:02 PM »
I've started doing online tutoring.  It's fairly easy (as long as you know the subjects they need tutors for) and you can set your own schedule.  Downside is that it doesn't pay a huge amount... $15/hr or so to start.
They always seem to need tutors for stats, chemistry,  physics and upper-division math. 

kudy

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2014, 03:21:09 PM »