Author Topic: Going carless, need to learn fast  (Read 6871 times)

Jannie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Going carless, need to learn fast
« on: December 18, 2012, 10:39:44 AM »
Well I'm on the fast track to life without a car, after the insurance company rang me yesterday with the news they will NOT be paying repairs on my car because they would cost more than it was worth.  Accident was minor and not my fault, but this is the result.

Anyway, they've offered me $2000 to settle the claim, which I can't complain about. BUT, they want it back today and I will get my money probably on Christmas Eve.

The first thing I have to do is figure out how to get home again after dropping off this vehicle this morning.  Yes it's still drivable, even in warrantable condition, but apparently I am not allowed to drive it any more.  So I am studying the bus timetable, and will haul my daughter's bike out of the garage - hasn't been ridden in four years, before that was ridden daily for five years, so I'm not very hopeful about it.

Then, how to get around from now on. 

Yikes, this is a great idea in theory - licensing, warrants, insurance, repairs and of course petrol.  But in practice??  Any hints welcome.

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
Re: Going carless, need to learn fast
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2012, 10:50:22 AM »
Buy the car back from the insurance company with a salvage title.

Std. practice.  If you don't have to spend money to make it safe to drive, you just made a few bucks.

Jannie

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2012, 10:53:02 AM »
Not worth it.  Their offer is very generous.  Though I can drive it right this minute it is costing more and more in repairs, gear box about to give up etc.  This is actually a lucky escape for me.  If I can see it that way.  Just the suddenness is taking me a bit to get my head around.

Jamesqf

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: December 18, 2012, 10:58:53 AM »