Author Topic: Going back to school, Moving to OZ - What major?  (Read 2771 times)

cbr shadow

• Bristles
Going back to school, Moving to OZ - What major?
« on: March 25, 2014, 09:53:42 AM »
I have a bachelor's degree in Industrial Technology, which has a focus on 3D modeling in AutoCAD, Solidworks, and Revit.  I've worked in a manufacturing industry using all of the above software for the last 5 years.  It's ok work, but doesn't pay very well for having a degree in an engineering field.  I make $49,500/yr and am 30 yrs old.

My wife on the other hand has a degree in OMIS (Operations Management and Information Systems) from the same school as I went to. It's a business degree with a strong focus on Computer Science.  She currently makes $125k/yr and is also 30. 
Her company has an opening in Sydney right now and her boss asked if she'd be interested.  It's an 18-24 month commitment and would come with a salary increase for her.  We've decided to take it.

On to my question.. I'm going to talk to my company to see if I can work remotely.  If they agree, great!  If they don't agree, we're still going to go, but I'll either look for work there (I'll be dependent on her 457 Visa) or else I'll go back to school.

I'd like to know what good options there are for going back to school.  What major would be a good ROI?  What field is good to get into in the US right now?  After 18-24 months in Sydney we'll be going back to Chicago to live near family again.

I've heard that there are lots of jobs in the IT field.. do you need to specialize in something like coding?  I dont think I'd be happy with a masters in Computer Science if I'm going to be the IT helpdesk guy making what I make now.

Any advice is appreciated!
-CBR

cbr shadow

• Bristles
Re: Going back to school, Moving to OZ - What major?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 12:41:59 PM »
bumpity bump

phred

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2014, 01:00:12 PM »