Author Topic: Going back to school (Am I stupid??)  (Read 6369 times)

onlykelsey

• Handlebar Stache
Going back to school (Am I stupid??)
« on: September 04, 2018, 11:08:48 AM »
I am considering going back to school, and want input on it.  Relevant info below, but feel free to ask for more:

The Basics About Me
  • I just turned 32
  • I am married (For now...) and have a 1.5 year old
  • I pay for about 85-88% of the family's costs
  • I am currently an attorney at an international law firm earning an obscene wage (probably 250190K this year post tax, but in Manhattan)
  • My NW is about 750K right now, with 250K of that being equity.  Assuming I stick it out at this job for another year, I should save another 120K
  • I don't have a great grasp of what my expenses are right now, but I think that if I ignored my husband entirely, and assumed I was responsible for all of my and the child's expenses, and the child continued in an expensive-ish daycare full time while I was in school, I would need about 80K to live on in Manhattan.  25K of that is the daycare.  I could play with moving my toddler in to my room and renting out a second room for 1K/monthly as well, which would take my expenses down about 12K, as well.

What I want to Do
  • I am considering a direct entry MDE program to become a nurse (with possible extension to become a NP. I actually have a borderline awkward exuberance for NPs and think they are basically the best medical professionals, but will start with RN and see how that goes).
  • It's an accelerated 72 credit 15 month program.
  • It costs a billion dollars approximately 100K in tuition and fees.
  • I need to finish some pre-reqs, which I can do at any accredited school (including online).  I'll probably have to spend 6K on prereqs and 1K on books etc for them.

Why I want to do it