Author Topic: Giving up ambition and a long new career for cash now  (Read 4459 times)

SpendyMcSpend

• Bristles
Giving up ambition and a long new career for cash now
« on: September 17, 2012, 02:35:32 PM »
I am confused.  I work as a paralegal basically (although more interesting position) and I'm 30.  I want to retire early and save a lot of money, but I just graduated with my accounting masters and am taking the CPA exams.

My job lined up for January pays $57,000 (+$4,000 for CPA materials) and my current job is now rocking at $103,000+ ($71,000 base plus overtime).  Overtime is not guaranteed and I've hit a wall in my career growth here (as in, there is nothing above me to aspire to in this job).  I don't want to be here forever, but it stinks that my pay goes like this:

2013:  New job, $57,000   Old job: $103,000
2014:  New job, $60,000  Old job $103,000
2015:  New job jump ship $75,000  Old job:  $103,000
2016:  New job $85,000-100k  Old job $105,000

Again, old job money is not guaranteed and I will be in the same old boring job.  New job is risky as who knows if my salary will go up like that or if I will get stuck or hate it.

UGH.

jrhampt

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Giving up ambition and a long new career for cash now
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2012, 02:42:14 PM »
How long would you have to suck it up in the old job bf you'd be able to reach FI?

jpo

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2012, 02:43:23 PM »
For me it would depend on how many years you have until FIRE/how many years switching would set you back and also how much you like your current paralegal job.

tooqk4u22

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2012, 03:02:45 PM »
The math from a guaranteed perspective would suggest to stay in your current job as you would be giving up $100k+ in four year per your expectations.  I think you really have to evaluate the intangibles, your goals for FIRE, and your individual mindset for career growth.