Author Topic: Getting started - student loans or investing?  (Read 1655 times)

AnneLynn

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Getting started - student loans or investing?
« on: May 19, 2018, 11:24:33 AM »
I've read a lot on the 'paying debt vs investing' question, but since I'm a newbie I'm hoping for some advice on my particular situation.

After my husband and I spent our 20s racking up credit card and student loan debt, making only minimum payments, and promptly spending any extra cash in our checking account, I found the MMM blog at 29 and saw the folly of my ways. We spent the last 2 years paying down the credit card debt while I maximized contributions to an employer-matched 401k.

Now the credit card debt is gone and I'm wondering what to do next. We have 22K in a 401k and 96K in student loans (30K at 5%, 33K at 4%, and 33K at 6.8%). I recently opened a Roth IRA for my husband with $1000 - he has no employer retirement benefits. We have no other savings, investments, or debts. We do have a line of credit, albeit at 12%, that we could use for emergencies.

My income ($2868/mo) is fixed whereas my husband works for a small business and his hours fluctuate (max $2706/mo). We live fairly cheaply and have an extra $1000-2000 per month that previously went to paying off credit card debt. In my newly found MMM zeal, I trimmed the fat from my expenses, although our savings rate could become higher as I try to slowly convert my husband to a more mustachian lifestyle. Neither of us expect to increase our income very much into the future - we both LOVE our jobs, and consciously choose to keep them instead of trying to make more money and retire earlier. However, I want to be strategic in how we pay down debt or invest, and hopefully make up for the sins of our youth.