Author Topic: Getting Rich With a Tiny House  (Read 18879 times)

freeedom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Getting Rich With a Tiny House
« on: March 05, 2014, 09:23:10 PM »
It costs me about $1625 per month to live at my house. I own a 2 bedroom and live by myself. I'm thinking of building a tiny house for 30K and paying $250-$300 a month for rent. If I did this I would also drop my commute from 1 hour to 10 minutes. I'm not seeing a downside here.

I was doing some research and posted an add on craigslist to let me park my tiny house in someones yard with an additional small storage trailer. The $250-$300 includes everything. Any thoughts? Any downsides? I'm about ready to pull the trigger and start the process of selling most of my stuff to help finance the build. I have no experience building things, but my uncle is a contractor and said he would help me build it.

Tiny House: http://minimhomes.com/

(Monthly house cost)
Mortgage: $1400
Water/Sewer: $50
Gas: $75
Electric: $50
Internet: $50

NickNam

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Getting Rich With a Tiny House
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2014, 09:29:04 PM »
I've been fascinated by tiny houses recently. If you're single and it would save you so much money I think it's a great idea. Please write a post about the entire journey there!

FuckRx

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2014, 09:58:00 PM »

just curious about the following questions:

how old are you?
are you planning on settling down with someone else soon?
how long would you keep this house?
would it be hooked up to electricity and have sewage etc?
what would you do with it afterwards when you ready to leave it?
could you maybe buy a small piece of land and then build it on there and so that way you can at least sell it for something of a profit?

freeedom

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2014, 10:07:56 PM »

just curious about the following questions:

how old are you?
are you planning on settling down with someone else soon?