Author Topic: Getting Off On the Right Foot: Advice for a Law Student?  (Read 4904 times)

wilkens

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Getting Off On the Right Foot: Advice for a Law Student?
« on: February 11, 2013, 09:05:38 PM »
Hi everyone. I have been lurking here for the past couple of weeks, reading everything. Just wanted to say this seems like a great little community.

A lot of what is said by MMM and on the forum resonates with me.

A little about me

I have always dreamed of being financially independent. I grew up in a single parent household where money was always the driving factor in virtually every decision. So from a very early age I knew I needed and wanted to be financially independent and never have to constantly worry about money like my mother did.

I should note I am Canadian. Currently live in Toronto.

I have an undergrad degree in commerce, a masters degree and am currently in my second year of law school.

My financial situation

Every summer I have worked and I work part-time during the school year. Despite this, I have about $40,000 in school debt:
-$26,000 government student loans
-$14,000 PSLOC

I basically live off of what I earn from my part-time job and used the money I earned last summer to pay down $12,000 off of my PSLOC.

Budget wise, the only expenses I have are:
-cellphone ($50) - in retrospect I shouldn't have gotten a plan this expensive but I need long distance to talk to my girlfriend.
-food (varies but probably about $250) - I try and buy whats on sale during the current week and make meals for the whole week. One or two days a week I will buy a coffee at school for $1.50.
-rent & utilities ($850) - living in Toronto is expensive
-public transit ($100) - monthly pass

I feel like I am really doing my best budget wise. Don't know what I can cut from my food budget without being hungry all the time since I am a big dude who works out and is always hungry.