Author Topic: Getting back into the workforce - no idea what direction to go.  (Read 2782 times)

sjc0816

• Bristles
This is such a bizarre place to be. I quit an outside sales job back in 2008 to stay home with my son, who had some non-serious medical issues that required a lot of time and appointments. This turned out to be a great thing for our family as my husband's career really skyrocketed and his income almost doubled a few years and a relocation later.

Our kids are older now - 7th and 4th grade and I've been volunteering a TON over the last decade and working part-time for the last 5 years. We are toying with my going back to work in the somewhat near future...but I have NO idea what I want to do. I have a journalism degree, several years of PR firm experience, several years of outside sales experience and massive experience in non profit program management (volunteer) and board experience. My part-time employment is a hodge-podge of fitness, marketing and administrative experience. All over the place.

I have never really had a career vision for my life. I fell into a journalism degree because I didn't know what to study....interned and a PR firm because I had friends there....was hired on full time. Moved states to be with my now husband...struggled to find a job for 7 months so I took the first thing I could find...which was an outside sales job. I did pretty well in that job but hated it. Because of all of this, I'm not very confident about my work history and feel like I can only qualify for maybe administrative assistant types of jobs even though I think I'm capable of more. I feel like I would take any job offered to me...and am very open. But most jobs seem to be looking for very specific skills that I just don't have unless I go back to what I was doing pre-kids and I just don't want to do that.