Author Topic: Get rich with... working remotely from abroad?  (Read 16349 times)

JonyMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Get rich with... working remotely from abroad?
« on: June 30, 2014, 09:50:16 PM »
What if you could live in Budapest, Hungary (for example), and work remotely for an American company, living on an American salary?

I've been pondering an idea to drastically increase my savings rate even further than it currently is.

I'm a software engineer in the bay area. As you all know, rent and cost of living in this area are expensive, but salaries are very high for us as well.

I've always wanted to explore the world and slow travel, live in different countries in 6 months or even 1 year at a time.

I figured, since I only need a computer and an internet connexion to do my job, I could work from anywhere. So I'm wondering if I could find a company that would pay a US salary but allow me to work from anywhere, and just move to cheaper countries. Seems like there are a bunch of companies that allow remote employees, and even some that don't have offices and 100% of employees are remote.

This way I can travel the world and increase my savings rate at the same time, reaching FI faster.

I've got a wife and a small child. My wife stays at home and plan to homeschool so we wouldn't have to worry about education and school districts, etc.

What do you guys think? Does that seem doable? Anyone doing something like that already? Any advice?
« Last Edit: June 30, 2014, 10:15:40 PM by JonyMustache »

SoCal

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Get rich with... working remotely from abroad?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2014, 10:57:27 PM »
The savings would be from lower housing costs, not lower taxes.  As a American, you'll pay US federal income and FICA taxes combined with Hungary taxes at a combined rate that is not leas than the US tax tables.  California will tax as well.

mxt0133

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2014, 11:59:32 PM »