Author Topic: Get my Masters or Invest the money?  (Read 6898 times)

tyler1215

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Get my Masters or Invest the money?
« on: July 11, 2014, 06:00:28 PM »
I started my Master's Degree in Electrical Engineer online through Purdue University at the beginning of the year.  My tuition is $3,333 (nice round number), or $860 per month.  I did ok in my first class, and am starting back up in the fall.  I took the summer so I could use the tuition money to pay off my last credit and become debt free. 

I work full-time as an Electrical Engineer, but go to school online.  I have my badassity down to less than 50% of my take home pay.  When I read the MMM blog late at night, I lay there wondering if I'm doing the right thing by going to back to school or if I should take the 50% of my pay that's left over each month (~$2500) and aim for FIRE.  I would like to retire from the rat race in my forties, after I have made it to that executive level at work.  Pursuing my Master's is not purely driven by career opportunities, but more by my desire to keep learning.

Should I keep with school, keep my badassity low, and play catch-up when I finish School? Or should I quit school and work toward retiring earlier? 

Left

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Get my Masters or Invest the money?
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2014, 06:31:32 PM »
I'm in the boat that going to school is more about personal interest and not work requirement after you've already started your career. Unless you are working for a promotion that requires the degree, it doesn't benefit you much in terms of return since the time it takes to recoop costs is same as getting to FI