Author Topic: FU money making me impatient?  (Read 9783 times)

StreetCat

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
FU money making me impatient?
« on: July 09, 2016, 07:27:40 AM »
I've been saving for 15 years now and my current net worth can support my basic living expenses at 3.5% withdrawal rate.  However, that doesn't include any health related expenses, which are currently being paid for by my employer sponsored insurance.

So, I am not FIREd yet.  At current savings rate it will take me another 5 years to FIRE.  But, I do have a serious amount of FU money (possibly to live off of for 15 years if I were to stop working immediately).

What I'm noticing is that I'm getting more and more impatient to FIRE and day dreaming a lot about walking up to my boss's desk and telling her that I am not going to work anymore, etc.  Sometimes it distracts me from work and now I have less patience for the day-to-day frustrations that are part of the job.  And I don't even have a highly stressful job.

Have others gone through this, and if so how did you cope with it?

MKinVA

• Bristles
Re: FU money making me impatient?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2016, 07:38:57 AM »
It helps me to focus on smaller steps. I have a year and a half to go due to the cost of healthcare. I get nervous that I'm going to tell off some of the people I have wanted to tell off for years, thus putting myself in the position of having to leave.

So I focus on saving money to fix up my house to sell which I want to do eventually. Selling or getting rid of things I don't need, planning for the future, etc. I try to have some project for each weekend some feel I am moving forward.

I appreciate it's hard. I was at five years three and a half years ago. Time does go by. Try not to wish your life away. Live it while you're getting ready for FIRE.

FIREby35

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2016, 08:02:58 AM »
3.5% is already below the 4% rule. I'm just saying...