Author Topic: Frugal, yet smart, Back Up Decision  (Read 8595 times)

burly

• Stubble
Frugal, yet smart, Back Up Decision
« on: January 19, 2013, 07:49:04 AM »
I am a avid photographer, not a professional, but it was a hobby of mine I picked up in college and I am often toting around my DSLR every trip or adventure. In addition, my wife is due in about 2 weeks with our first child and the in-laws bought us a digital video camera for christmas! So I am expecting to have even more photos & videos in the next 10 years.

About a year ago, I had a hard drive fail and I lost 1000's of pictures of a year I spent in Europe... needless to say I was devastated. I was saved only by the fact that I burned a DVD with all the pictures (jpg not raw format) for my college roommate back in the day.  With today's world being ALL digital, I pitched to my wife, what would we do if we lost all the photos/videos of baby Natalie?

Here's our set up:
Me: MacBook Air (pre mustashian purchase, but it's paid itself 5x with freelance)
Wife: Old Sony Viao from her Grad School Days

We each have a 250gb external HD of which mine is 45% full of photos.

After reading it seems that the way to accomplish this is with a RAID device, and set to Raid 1, so any data copied is then backed up on a second drive, thus creating a redundancy.

I've been looking at the WD Duo and Lacie 2big Raid setup that both are about $500.00. I will be cashing out my credit card points and will have ~$200 in amazon gift cards, but I want to know what other Mustaschians do for these type of back ups?

I'm sure it's a common problem since everything is digital today.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: January 19, 2013, 07:50:56 AM by nathanc »

Jimbo

• Stubble
Re: Frugal, yet smart, Back Up Decision
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2013, 08:38:24 AM »
A back-up server seems the way to go, but I would be curious about the mustachian way to do it.

Interested, but not much useful stuff i can say...

zug

• 5 O'Clock Shadow