Author Topic: Frugal Vacation Plans  (Read 3373 times)

neo von retorch

• Magnum Stache
    • Fi@retorch - personal finance tracking
Frugal Vacation Plans
« on: October 18, 2018, 12:58:09 PM »
Here I am, asking how to spend my money!

More seriously, here are my constraints:
  • As a contractor, I'll have to swallow some income loss for weekdays taken off
  • Spouse has Raynaud's - we'd really prefer to go somewhere warm
  • Our closest airport is PHL, though we could probably do Newark or Baltimore if driving there saved us money and/or a layover
We would love...
  • An all-inclusive island resort
Whoa, that's not very mustachian! Maybe could we have...
  • Warm weather
  • Great views (i.e. beautiful natural things to look at)
  • Minimal "work" to survive / eat food
What do you think? What can we do without spending $20k at Jade Mountain (plus flights)?

Cranky

• Magnum Stache
Re: Frugal Vacation Plans
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2018, 01:17:29 PM »
I think Florida is the traditional answer there!

LifeHappens

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2018, 01:23:20 PM »
I think Florida is the traditional answer there!
That would probably be a cheap-ish option. When do you want to travel? Between Thanksgiving and Christmas is a pretty low cost time to travel either to Florida or the Caribbean. You might try some of the discount sites like CheapCaribbean and see what an all-inclusive + air package would cost you.

haypug16

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2018, 01:24:21 PM »
I'd agree with Florida, maybe the Keys? You could even drive there to save on airfare. I've done the drive from Boston to Disney with Mr Pug a couple times.

Cranky

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2018, 01:25:44 PM »
And seriously, I have no idea as to what you want to do or how much you want to spend, but here’s my fantasy fall/winter break with my dh: