Author Topic: French wannabe Mustachian moving to the US  (Read 2275 times)

FrenchStash

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
French wannabe Mustachian moving to the US
« on: May 10, 2019, 05:16:20 PM »
Hi,

I am a 26 years old french automotive engineer from Paris, France. I will start a new position in Detroit area in the american subsidiary of my current company in July. Of course it is subject to Visa approval but my company seems quite confident about it. I discovered MMM's blog a month ago, the FIRE movement does not seem to get a lot of coverage in France, my friends just never heard about it.

Here's a few things about me:
  • I have always been living like a mustachian without even knowing it (frugality, no car, only bike or public transportation, easy when you live in a big city)
  • French educational system allowed me to get my Engineering Master Degree without taking a loan
  • I have been working since I graduated in September 2016
  • I saved around 50% of my income after tax in 2018, about 55-60% since January 2019.
  • I currently have 9k€ in mixed shares/bonds funds, the interest rate is 3% which is the average in France. Very low compared to what you have in the US so I might transfer the money to the US.
  • I also have 20k€ not invested on my regular account that I suppose I'm going to invest in Vanguard ETF once I arrive in the US

About my new position:
  • Base Salary is 80k, bonuses average 5.5% of base
  • Employer is Matching 401k up to 5%

I read quite a few articles and posts but I am from another continent and things are really different where I live right now so it can be quite confusing sometimes. I have a few questions:
  • What should I exactly do regarding income tax, should I put maximum I can into 401k?
  • Should I go for VTI/Betterment instead?