Author Topic: Freelancing  (Read 12442 times)

mobilisinmobili

• Stubble
  • Advance daily
Freelancing
« on: March 04, 2013, 12:22:38 PM »
Just wondering on how mustachians began their freelancing / side business careers. I'm looking for information on making some spare cash on the side, wondering what people's strategies have been.

Arbor33

• Stubble
Re: Freelancing
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2013, 12:38:19 PM »
I'm a full time programmer/analyst but on the side I am a landlord, an energy consultant, and I run a candy route (candy boxes and dispensers in other peoples businesses).

It was a goal of mine to have rentals since I was in middle school. Once I graduated, I found a job and saved up. Not much to say there.

I do the energy gig on the side and it takes almost no time out of my day. I just followed my parents into that business venture. It's MLM which some people find fault with but I quite like it. It gives me a 1099 at the end of the year and the write offs are nice. I plan on retiring and keeping this as my primary income stream.

With a friend of mine, I invested in a candy route. We bought it from a lady he knew and are managing it together. We make runs about once a month to restock our locations and collect the money. Each spot generates money without much work on my end but they don't make me a killing on their own. Having multiple stops is the only way to make candy a worthwhile investment.

What are you hoping to do on the side?

Khao

• Stubble
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2013, 12:45:10 PM »