Author Topic: Follow your Passion or Follow the Money  (Read 13578 times)

LawDoc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Follow your Passion or Follow the Money
« on: October 25, 2012, 12:07:56 PM »
Hello MMM Forum!

I'm a medical resident at a crossroads and I would love to hear some opinions from the forum.

In the next 12 months, I will need to pick a sub-specialty to pursue after my residency.

I love geriatrics and I really like gastroenterology.

The kicker is, however, that gastroenterology reimburses much better than geriatrics.  The average salaries from gastroenterologists is ~$275k, versus $175k for the average geriatrician.

So, do I do something I truly really like that will reimburse me well, versus doing something I think I love that pays quite a bit less?

I know this all comes down to goals... my goals are to pay down my student debt (nearly $100k from medical school) and to achieve financial independence quickly.  I love medical practice and don't envision myself wanting to retire young, but I would like the flexibility to work less (say, 40 hours a week instead of the average physician's 60-70 hours).

Now, the prevailing conventional wisdom is "do what you love" and "follow your passion"... but I'm not sure that I buy that.  People think that following their passion (professionally) will make them happy at work, but I'm finding that my happiness at work is more related to 1) autonomy, 2) flexibility, and 3) being part of a good team of co-workers than the actual content of my tasks.

Then again, I've been in school or training for the last 24 years and have never had a real job, so what do I know?

Happy to provide more information, but thought this would be a good jumping-off point.

Thanks for any insights!
LD

RoseRelish

• Stubble
    • RoseRelish - Slow down and Enjoy Life
Re: Follow your Passion or Follow the Money
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2012, 12:20:02 PM »