Author Topic: Flipping/selling domain names - anyone have any success or tips?  (Read 5309 times)

playtah

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello fellow Mustachians!

Recently I decided to try a little fun side-gig. I bought some domain names (using promo codes, I got most of them for $1.99 on GoDaddy).  I figured I'd see if I could make any money trying to pick trendy ones, and then selling them on the aftermarket.  So far, I haven't sold one, but I have some more auctions coming up.  I've tried several auction marketplaces: GoDaddy Auctions, Sedo.com, Bido.com, Afternic.com, etc.  I'm focusing on Bido.com right now. 

Have any of you ever done anything like this? Is it worth it?  Also, I know that some people "flip" the domain name by buying it, building a website, driving traffic to it, and THEN selling it.  Have any of you tried this as well?  I have no coding experience or anything, but I can get around fairly well in Wordpress. 

Just curious if this will make money, or simply be a lesson in what doesn't work :)

MakingSenseofCents

• Bristles
    • Making Sense of Cents
Re: Flipping/selling domain names - anyone have any success or tips?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 04:25:41 PM »
I don't know much about flipping websites, but have you looked into Flippa as well?

playtah

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2014, 04:53:52 PM »
MakingSenseofCents,

I didn't know Flippa existed!  Thank you!

MakingSenseofCents

• Bristles
    • Making Sense of Cents
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2014, 06:21:39 PM »
MakingSenseofCents,

I didn't know Flippa existed!  Thank you!

Welcome! :)

grantmeaname

• CM*MW 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
  • Cast me away from yesterday's things
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2014, 07:07:26 PM »
What economic value are you providing? Why would this be a profitable endeavor at which you could consistently make more than $5 an hour at, based on the economic fundamentals of what you're doing?

playtah

• 5 O'Clock Shadow