Author Topic: Fixer Home  (Read 2433 times)

ktammaro

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Fixer Home
« on: January 03, 2020, 09:14:49 AM »
I am brand new to the FIRE movement. I will have my Debt Emergency taken care of by Feb 1st. I would really appreciate some advice on what my next steps should be. I bought a 2 bed/2 bath fixer home in a resort town 10 years ago for 165K. I have not fixed it at all. It needs new floors, new windows, and the 2 bathrooms and kitchen need an overhaul. I also need to paint the deck and outside. I have 100K in equity in the home. My question is how to finance the repairs. Also, the house next door to me (2 bed/1 bath) was bought and fixed up recently and is now an Airbnb. The occupancy rate averages 20 days per month at $150 per night minus the 10% property management fee for a gain of $2700. My house is exactly the same as theirs except mine has a much better lake view and there are no stairs required to enter the house (a big deal in the mountains). I have a bonus large room (almost the size of the houses footprint) and bathroom downstairs that is accessed from a different entrance that I could use as a living space while my house was being rented out. I have a very stable job in a school district for $77,000 and have 30K in student loan debt.  My car is paid off. Thank you for your advice in advance!

trollwithamustache

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Fixer Home
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2020, 09:21:12 AM »
Its time to cowboy up with some YouTube videos and do the work yourself!

ktammaro

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2020, 09:35:46 AM »
Thank you for your advice! I’ll start looking at You Tube videos.

socaso

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2020, 09:39:41 AM »
Your house sounds ideal for an AirBnB. I wonder why you would bother paying a property management fee if you would only have the one listing and you would be onsite to handle the cleaning in between guests?