Author Topic: First time supporting myself...any advice?  (Read 4736 times)

katjarr

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First time supporting myself...any advice?
« on: May 28, 2012, 03:02:06 PM »
I'm pretty young and newly divorced. This is my first time really supporting myself and I'm a little apprehensive about it. Luckily, I don’t have any dependents.

-To start out with, I have a 6.5 month emergency fund in a CD. And an “irregular expenses” account of $1500. My only debt is a car loan, which I owe $12,000 on for four more years (interest is at 1.99%)

-At my current job, I make $33,000/year. I’m getting a raise soon that will bump me up to $37,000. After taxes, that’s about $2,000 per month.

-I contribute to the employer match in my roth 401(k) (total I invest 9%) and get health/dental insurance through my employer, too. After this, I am left with $1,800

-I budget $1500 for living expenses:
550 rent
250 car loan payment (this is my only debt)
100 utilities (usually less than this)
125 car and renters insurance
60 gas
41 gym membership
10 hulu subscription
200 food
165 free spending (clothes, going out etc)

-I am left with around $300 a month, which is a cushion if I have additional expenses. I am thinking when I don’t use it; I will put it into a money market account as I would like to save up for a down payment on a house in about 5 years.

-When I get my raise, it will be around $200 extra per month. I was thinking about contributing $100 into the money market account (for a house) mentioned about. Then, $50 into starting a Roth IRA. Then the final $50 to save up for a medium term goal like going a vacation.

I have never supported myself before and am unsure about how well I am budgeting. I come from a very financially conservative family so I still don’t feel like I’m saving enough.

Anyone have any opinions?

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
Re: First time supporting myself...any advice?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2012, 03:13:59 PM »