Author Topic: First Time Poster - Vehicle Dilemma  (Read 4138 times)

L.A.Stache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First Time Poster - Vehicle Dilemma
« on: March 28, 2015, 01:08:48 PM »
Hi All,

I've been reading for quite a while but have never posted. I really enjoy all the helpful insight and motivation from this community! So, here's my dilemma, which I have been brooding over for several months now:

I have developed a fairly serious back problem (slipped or herniated disk). The problem is exacerbated by (and may have been caused by) driving my car (2003 Mustang). As a result, I have been commuting to work by bus. I had my physical therapist look at my car and we tried to figure out padding, etc. to make it workable for me. I have also considered replacing the seats, but my PT advises against this since it is costly and after spending the money, the new seat may not work out for me. The fact that it's a low sports car is just not good for my back situation.

Even though I've been managing for a few months essentially without a car, I don't feel that this is a good long term solution. I'm a lawyer and need to make court appearances, go to depositions, etc. for work. So far, I have been able to rent cars or borrow when necessary, but this is somewhat stressful and extremely distracting as I have to rent from a particular independent place that lets me reserve a specific vehicle, and I have to be able to get there during the hours that they're open. Since I am a litigator, all I need is for one case to get close to trial and I could suddenly find myself in need of a car on a daily basis. In addition, I also like the freedom of being able to visit my parents on the weekend (they live in a rural area in the canyons).