Author Topic: First Time International Traveler Looking for Tips!  (Read 8638 times)

captainker

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First Time International Traveler Looking for Tips!
« on: June 17, 2017, 11:50:09 PM »
Hello, friendly forum people! I've been lurking on these forums for ages (my husband showed me this website almost two years ago and we love working towards FIRE!) and love the advice you all give! Practicality and optimization are the best!

I'm going on a three week study trip in Europe with a group of 40 (including a polyglot experienced tour guide and three experienced professors). I'm a young but non-traditional student (mom of three, and all that, had kids first, college now that they're all in school) going along for the fantastic life experience! We're hitting up Italy, Austria, and France! Yay!

I've never left the US before and am looking for tips on things like what to take, how to keep my stuff safe, cell phone stuff, food safety to look out for, etc. Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: June 17, 2017, 11:51:49 PM by captainker »

LAGuy

• Bristles
Re: First Time International Traveler Looking for Tips!
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2017, 12:00:47 AM »
Fly everywhere if you can. The student set still looks to the trains first, but you can fly anywhere you want for super cheap and in less time. Don't try to save 50 bucks by taking a 13 hour bus ride or something like that. As for keeping your stuff safe. If you're in a hostel, you're generally pretty safe. I've never even heard of people getting stuff stolen and dumb kids are always leaving their laptops and stuff out. That said, once you're out and about it's a different story. Especially in the south (Spain, Italy, etc). Don't leave your bag, camera, etc at your table to go dance. That shit will be as good as gone when you get back. If at all possible, just go out at night with nothing but some cash in your pocket. Leave the rest behind.

nnls

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2017, 12:35:08 AM »