Author Topic: First-time home shopper, looking at duplexes  (Read 3461 times)

lexde

• Magnum Stache
First-time home shopper, looking at duplexes
« on: July 01, 2018, 07:20:15 PM »
I'm looking at a few multi-unit properties in my area in the $300-350K range.

I've never applied for a mortgage before, but my Realtor requires pre-approval before viewing properties (which seems a bit weird...) so I went ahead and got pre-approved by Rocket Loans after finding a property I am actually interested in. I've been window-shopping for about 18 months, and this one property appears to check all of my boxes and is listed at $299.9k.

I've been looking into different mortgage programs and wanted to get input on what you guys think I should get.

There is always FHA since I am a first time buyer;
Also conventional 30-year mortgage (will require 15% down minimum);
I also saw a professional mortgage from BBVA Compass Bank for attorneys that offers a low down payment (5%?) with no PMI.

I am not experienced in mortgage shopping and definitely don't want to get screwed over. Does anyone have insight/recommendations/advice?

Thanks.

Another Reader

• Walrus Stache
Re: First-time home shopper, looking at duplexes
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2018, 08:10:18 PM »
A good agent requires you to be pre-qualified because they don't want to waste time with buyers that can't buy.  As commissioned sales people, they don't get paid unless the sale closes.

There is a variety of conventional loans, starting at 5 percent down with PMI.

I would look at the interest rate and fees with the BBVA Compass loan.  BBVA is a very fee-oriented bank, so this may be a gimmicky loan.  If it's a good deal, it would be worth pursuing.