Author Topic: First-time buyer  (Read 4337 times)

Skuze

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
First-time buyer
« on: May 24, 2015, 08:59:45 AM »
Hi all,

I'm a first-time house buyer and would really appreciate any advice on:
1) Finances
2) Furnishings and maintenance
3) Other stuff I probably haven't thought of.

About

Me - 22, male, single, BA degree, I graduated last summer and started a surprisingly enjoyable management consulting job in September. I converted to Mustachianism about three months ago.

Income - £29k base salary + about 15% bonus. I expect my base to rise to £32k in June and for my total income to increase at 10-15% per year for the next five years. Once I have the house, I am planning on getting a lodger paying £350 per month (tax-free!).

Current spending - I rent a tiny room near work for £230 per month and stay with my parent rent-free most weekends. Other spending - car, food, gym and dates - comes to about £500 per month. I have £22k in student loans, towards which I pay £90 per month.

Savings - I've saved at least £1k every month since September and saved £2k in December and April (when parts of my bonus were paid). I currently have £32k in savings (including deposit).

Mortgage - £25k deposit, £132.5k mortgage. Fixed at 3.49% for the first five years, then to 3.49% + BBR. My goal here was to protect myself against any rate rises until my income has grown significantly.

House - three-bed semi-detached house in the South West, 25 years old and less than a mile from work. The previous owner did not take care of it so there is some work that needs doing e.g. broken guttering, leaky garage roof (plus it is filthy). I am paying £157.5k, which is very cheap for that size of house in my town but more in-line with prices on this particular street, which has a poor reputation. I am hoping to move in at the end of June.

Thanks!

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: First-time buyer
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2015, 09:03:21 AM »