Author Topic: First-time buyer and remodeling - recipe for chaos?  (Read 3725 times)

YummyRaisins

• Stubble
First-time buyer and remodeling - recipe for chaos?
« on: March 10, 2019, 01:21:34 PM »
I've got some questions for more experienced folks on the particulars of buying a home that has great potential for expansion (I think). Bonus points if anyone has experience from the perspective of a first time buyer.

We just got back from an open house for a small 3 bedroom 1.5 bath home (~1,300 sqft, built in 1940) The location is great, the size doesn't bother us, and it may be overpriced based on comps (see below). Thing is, it's quite dated and has a very small kitchen. 1 counter with stove, sink, and fridge with counter space limited to the bits between each. There's a 1/2 bath that would have to be relocated to expand the kitchen into the adjacent dining room and a fireplace on the other inner wall that isn't going anywhere. The alternative would be to demo the outer wall and expand out, maybe even connect to the detached garage in the back yard. My naive thinking is that the cost to expand would increase the home's value beyond what we spend.

My hesitation is part financial and part impact on quality of life. These remodels/additions sound expensive and time consuming. Plus, I would think we couldn't live in the home while all that was going on. However, this seems like a good opportunity to buy a home below market in a nice area, make the changes we like, and (maybe) get some ROI in 5-10 years.

Would jumping on this be a bad choice? How long do renovations like these take and what do they cost? Should we just keep looking for places that need mostly superficial changes (e.g. paint, appliances, siding)? If we did do it, should we plan to keep renting and do the remodel before moving in, or do it down the road?

Comp Table (sorry for the crap formatting)

Date of last salePricesqft$/sqftBedroomsBathroomsGarage?Basement?Lot Sizeother