Author Topic: First post, need some 5 year advice.  (Read 4993 times)

nsmall

• Stubble
First post, need some 5 year advice.
« on: November 02, 2018, 10:58:04 PM »
Trying to keep this brief.  First off, love this site and all of you.  What a great place!!!!

I am a little uncomfortable sharing my entire financial #'s so I will try to be vague and hopefully that is okay.

Im 39, and I need some advice.

I have a 403b ROTH IRA that I max out each year.  I am a public school teacher. 

My wife and I max out our personal ROTH's each year. 

I would like to retire when I'm 50.   I live in CA but want to move to WA state in 5 years.

My concern is my employer claims I CANT take out money from my 403B until I'm 59.5 without being penalized.

In 7 months my house (rather expensive house as I live in CA) will be paid off.  My 5 year plan is to sell my home in CA and move to WA when I'm 45, buy a house with cash and work for 5 more yearsish and then retire.

So I will have 90k a year to invest in 7 months.  Right now Im only investing 30k a year into the ROTHs mentioned above.

Should I quit investing into my 30k a year into the ROTH's and just invest the 30k into Vangaurds total stock market fund?

In 7 months I will have 90k a year to invest because the mortgage will be gone.

I'm thinking I have way to much into these ROTH accounts, especially if I cant take money out of the 403B ROTH until I'm 59.5.

I'm also thinking of doing a traditional 403B for 2019 as I sold some rentals this year so my tax bill is going to be expensive for 2019.

I can answer any questions you may have.  My main concern is having money tied up, whereas when I am 50 I would like the option to retire. 

I also have 2 rentals I will sell in 5 years when I retire.

Thanks in advance

nsmall

• Stubble
Re: First post, need some 5 year advice.
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2018, 11:12:40 PM »