Author Topic: First car purchase, worried about snow and hills (Pittsburgh)  (Read 9734 times)

PencilMustache

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello MMM community,

After accepting a job yesterday, I am forced to buy a car to commute to work. My wife and I had wanted a Toyota Yaris for both it's small size and good MPG, but when we mentioned this to one of her coworkers (she walks to work, but some of her coworkers drive) she said that we would need 4WD to deal with the combination of snow and hills in Pittsburgh. I only pretty much plan to use the car to commute to work, and the first part of the commute will be through some hilly parts of the city (the second part is just on the highway). I read some posts on the forums here and I have heard that in some circumstances you can use snow tires (or chains?) to travel safely in snowy conditions (I admit that I am a noob to driving or car ownership at all). What is the community's thoughts on this predicament? Should we look at a different car?

For some more information on what the car will be used for, we don't plan on ever doing anything like driving on trails (or other activities that traditionally would require 4WD), just using it to drive on normal roads to work and maybe highway on trips, and we don't plan on ever towing anything.

If anyone needs any more information, I will be happy to provide it. Thanks so much in advance for helping us to make a smart first car purchase!

ketchup

• Magnum Stache
Re: First car purchase, worried about snow and hills (Pittsburgh)
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2014, 10:55:28 AM »
4WD makes you accelerate faster in snow and ice, but not stop any faster in snow and ice.  Tread lightly.

neo von retorch

• Magnum Stache
    • Fi@retorch - personal finance tracking
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2014, 10:59:09 AM »