Author Topic: FIRE vs Lean In: The Mental Struggle  (Read 9763 times)

ysette9

• Walrus Stache
FIRE vs Lean In: The Mental Struggle
« on: April 11, 2015, 11:17:03 AM »
This board seems to be full of high achievers, so I hope others have spent time contemplating this and can help me reason through my conflicting emotions.

Background on me: I am a female engineer in Silicon Valley working for a large aerospace company where I have been for the last 10+ years. I have a bachelor's from a top state school and a master's from a top private school (both in the Bay Area, I am sure you can guess...). I have been through my company's leadership development program, have been blessed with cool assignments, great raises, am flagged a "high potential" employee, am now in management, blah blah blah. A lot is expected of me and I have really enjoyed getting where I am so far.

At the same time, I now have a baby and more than ever have this burning (har har) FIRE dream so I can spending my days wiht my husband and baby. My husband is totally on board as well. I was having a mentoring session last week where the question of where to take my career came up, and my mentor asked me the usual "where do you want to be in 5, 10 years?". Secretly I was thinking "retired" but that doesn't work for career planning now.