Author Topic: Finding customers IT sales  (Read 2388 times)

Uturn

• Pencil Stache
Finding customers IT sales
« on: November 01, 2016, 08:40:08 AM »
For the past year, I have been a sales engineer for an IT VAR.  I have an extensive technical background in networking and security, but this is my first foray into sales.  Being sales has been quite an adjustment from being on the customer side.   As with all jobs, it has it's ups and downs.  One of the ups is that I do not have a quota, one of the downs is the sales guy I work with doesn't either.  He is just not that motivated.  The way it works is he sets up the calls and I am there to answer technical questions, do some design work, and perform some installs on smaller projects.  If the project is more than about a week, we turn it over to an implementation team at corporate and the NOC for post sales work.

My problem is I'm bored.  I have not found a way to motivate the sales guy to drum up more work, so I think I want to see if I can.  My problem is I have no idea how to find customers.  Short of cold calling, how does one go about finding IT customers?  I've already reached out to friends who work IT. 

2Birds1Stone

• Walrus Stache
  • K Thnx Bye
Re: Finding customers IT sales
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2016, 11:18:46 AM »
I am the sales guy for B2B enterprise software sales (mainframe & workload automation).

Talk to management and see if they could align you to more than one sales rep.

That being said, how the heck does a sales guy not have a quota? What does the comp plan look like? Sales folks are inherently motivated by money.

Uturn

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2016, 01:19:58 PM »
I am the sales guy for B2B enterprise software sales (mainframe & workload automation).

That being said, how the heck does a sales guy not have a quota? What does the comp plan look like? Sales folks are inherently motivated by money.