Author Topic: Financial advice for a currently-unemployed college student?  (Read 3250 times)

momijizukamori

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Financial advice for a currently-unemployed college student?
« on: December 24, 2014, 12:08:49 AM »
So, to lay it all out:
I'm 26. I graduated debt-free (thank you amazing parents)  from aCanadian university with a BSc in Biology in 2010, at which point the economy was still a trainwreck and bio jobs were practically non-existant. I worked a string of dead-end temp jobs for three years before my work permit in Canada expired (last summer) at which point I moved back in with family. My marks were poor enough with my first degree that grad school wasn't an option, so right now I'm doing a second BSc in Computer Science at a state university, with the hopes that because I have more industry connections there I'll have better luck when I graduate in a year or so (second degree = less credits required).

I've been working on and off since I was fifteen, but never anything with career-advancing skills, or possibilities of promotions - I've never made over $2/month at any of them. At this point my main job and work/life balance is 'does not give me constant stress-nightmares' which I mean very literally - I have had repeated nightmares about some of the jobs because they made me that unhappy.

Financial Stuff
Current income: $0
Money 'on hand':
~$100 in a checking account
$31k in a Fidelity Four-In-One Index fund (originally set up by my parents, and I'm open to investment advice or reading suggestions. I've been drawing on this in the last year when I need money which I know is NO VERY BAD DON'T DO THAT)

Current expenses:
Food/Housing/Car: $0 (covered by parents until I graduate)