Author Topic: Financial (Career) Dilemma  (Read 2055 times)

kcred9

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Financial (Career) Dilemma
« on: July 28, 2015, 07:24:03 AM »
My Dilemma is whether to go back to school to get my Masters to become a principal at a high school, which would start in about a month.  Our current principal is retiring in two years so the chances of sliding into that job would be pretty good if I wanted to.  I would imagine that I would make about $60,000.  Right now I am a teacher and Athletic Director at this school making $37,500.  This is a small Catholic school in Iowa so the pay is not very good compared to your public schools. 

I am 26 years old (turn 27 in Nov.) I would really like to be a stay at home Dad when we have kids which would be about when I am 30-31.  With my current job I know that I wouldn't have a lot of time to spend with them, especially in the fall and winter which are the busiest of times working 60+ hrs a week.  As a principal my hours would be shorter because I wouldn't need to be at every activity.  My wife is 25 (26 in Oct.) she works as branch manager at a credit union and loves her jobs and thinks I am kinda crazy for thinking of being a stay at home Dad.

We have always been good savers but didn't start being good investors until this past March when we educated ourselves on it.  I have read over 15 books in the past 6 months on investing, financial independence, happiness as well as reading a bunch of blogs.

My Roth IRA has about $8500 in Total International Stock Index Fund at Vanguard (maxed out 2014 and will max out 2015)

Her Roth IRA has about $8500 in Small Cap Value Index Fund at Vanguard (maxed out 2014 and will max out 2015)

My 401k has about $3,000 in it and not contributing to it anymore because the funds are terrible (were costing to much) and I don't receive a match anyway