Author Topic: Finances for someone just starting out.  (Read 5175 times)

FloridaFarmer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Finances for someone just starting out.
« on: January 21, 2014, 07:25:55 AM »
A short introduction about myself and where to go with my finances. I am a recently graduated student with a degree in Agricultural Operations. I currently do not work in that field, but I might one day. Please feel free to help critique my budget and ask more questions about it if necessary.

Expenses.
Home
Rent $250.00 per month
Electric $40-70.00 per month
Internet $39.00 per month
Vehicle
19 miles to work each way five days a week
18MPG 2006 GMC sierra I bought new in cash.
190 miles a week plus around town driving.
Auto insurance $295.00 per six months with Geico
Personal
No debt
Phone Bill $90 through sprint a little over a year on the contract. I have been looking at Ting or republic wirless but have not made the switch.
Current savings $3,600
Income after tax $700 biweekly paycheck
My job pays my medical insurance and they give me $700 per year in a health savings account.
Military reserve pay $250 per month
Farm income per year for Citrus average has been $10,000.00
Other income through side projects $3,000.00
I honestly do not keep track of my food bills well enough to track them, but I suppose I should for in the future. I eat fast food relatively often and I eat with my parents and friends quite a bit. I cook at home very little, but when I do its sandwiches and whatnot.
Any advice and questions about my budget on where to go and what to do would be helpful.

Khan

• Pencil Stache
Re: Finances for someone just starting out.
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2014, 07:39:09 AM »
18mpg, 19 miles each way to work.
That's 8$ a day just to go to work with your current vehicle.
The 190 miles you're doing per week? ~40$. Of your 700$ paycheck, 80$ of it goes to gas. 160$ a month.

Fix that for one thing. I'd recommend fuel efficiency instead of moving. Try to combine errands too.