Author Topic: Filing taxes before all 2014 IRA contributions?  (Read 2553 times)

runjmc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Filing taxes before all 2014 IRA contributions?
« on: January 29, 2015, 01:51:27 PM »
So, I'm relatively new to embracing the FIRE lifestyle and just got my IRA set up for 2014 not too long before the close of the year. As a result, I have $4500 left to contribute prior to the April 15th 2015 deadline for 2014 contributions. Finances are going to be a little tight if I have to do this paycheck-to-paycheck leading up to the deadline, but I'm expecting a $1750 federal return and $500 state return. Of course, these returns are based on me maxing out my IRA for 2014.

So. My question is this: can I file my taxes now, collect my refunds, and fund my IRA? Will the fact that I'm claiming I've paid $5500 towards my 2014 IRA cap but have only paid $1000 by the time I file raise an audit flag? Any advice from someone who has been in this situation would be greatly appreciated.

MDM

• Senior Mustachian
Re: Filing taxes before all 2014 IRA contributions?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2015, 08:13:55 PM »
My question is this: can I file my taxes now, collect my refunds, and fund my IRA? Will the fact that I'm claiming I've paid $5500 towards my 2014 IRA cap but have only paid $1000 by the time I file raise an audit flag? Any advice from someone who has been in this situation would be greatly appreciated.
Short answer: yes.

For more details, see http://www.irs.gov/publications/p590a/ch01.html#en_US_2014_publink1000230424:
When Can Contributions Be Made?

As soon as you open your traditional IRA, contributions can be made to it through your chosen sponsor (trustee or other administrator). Contributions must be in the form of money (cash, check, or money order). Property cannot be contributed.