Author Topic: Fighting hospital bill..?  (Read 4178 times)

justme

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Fighting hospital bill..?
« on: April 22, 2015, 11:30:39 PM »
I've been reading MMM for several months and have taken some steps (and will take more!) toward FI and will be back for more advice on that later. 

However, I've run into a problem that I need help with now.  In January, I collapsed at work with heart racing, difficulty breathing, etc. (I work in a hospital lab), and my supervisor took me to the Emergency Room instead of the urgent care that I requested.  She said that it was heart stuff and that necessitated the ER and I was so out of it that I couldn't/didn't insist.

Long story short, they did nothing for me and I suffered for two more weeks, barely able to walk, until I happened to go to the chiropractor who said my rib was out of place (mimicking heart issues), popped it back into place, I walked out normally for the first time in three weeks, and have been fine ever since (I'm fairly healthy otherwise).  I was there for six hours, waiting to be seen by a doctor for almost four.  They literally put my IV in five minutes before the doctor came back and discharged me.

Of course, the hospital want its money: $1853.30.  Do I just pay and call it an expensive lesson or can I fight to lower my bill?  If I can fight, what are some specific things that y'all suggest?

Thanks in advance for any advice you can give.

mxt0133

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Fighting hospital bill..?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2015, 01:08:10 AM »
If you have insurance then you are going to have an uphill battle.  Ask them for a detailed statement and ask for a review on the charges.  If they did nothing other than the IV you might have a case and have them lower it.

If you don't have insurance then tell them that you can pay cash but not the full amount and try to get them to lower it.

But yeah at least you didn't call for an ambulance, that would have cost you another grand or so.

PhotoBrandon