Author Topic: Few Questions  (Read 7686 times)

powersln

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Few Questions
« on: May 08, 2012, 07:44:59 PM »
Hey everyone,

I'm new to MMM and I'm loving the forums so far.   I have a few questions for you guys/girls.

Background:
Age 25
Married (spouse stays home with our newborn)
Salary: $46,000.00

Assets:
Cash: $2,562.00
Employee stock purchase (15% discount): $3,019.00
401k: $7,730.00
House: $83,000.00
Car: $6,000.00

Loans:
Sallie Mae: $2,217.46 @ 2.36%
Sallie Mae: $1,495.78 @ 3.0%
Sallie Mae: $3,193.95 @ 3.75%
Mortgage: $$73,247.20 @ 3.865% ($558 monthly)

I have been loosely following Dave Ramsey's plan by keeping a $1,000 as an emergency fund and aggressively paying down debt.  However, I do break from the baby steps by investing in retirement and funding our baby's 529 plan.

Questions
1.)  Since my interests rates are low, should I start my 3-6 month emergency fund now instead of aggressively paying off the rest of the student loans?
2.) Should I liquidate the Employee Stock Purchase Plan to put toward the debt/emergency fund?   I kind of don't want to do this because I get a 15% discount on the stock and if I sell I get suspended from the program for one year.   I also realize that single stocks are risky, but it's a stable fortune 500 company.
3.) Any other tips for me?

Thanks!

gooki

• Magnum Stache
    • My FIRE journal
Re: Few Questions
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2012, 09:57:53 PM »
Basically, all your loans are below 4% so as long as you either invest your savings or pay down debt you'll be just fine.

Personally I don't see much point in having a large emergency fund. A couple of grand cash, and some invested that can be cashed up in a month or less is all you probably need.

I'd happily stay in the employee stock purchase plan.

Dicey

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2012, 12:04:38 AM »
You're doing incredibly well so far, congratulations!