Author Topic: feedback on my budget to finds ways to save  (Read 5972 times)

seannike

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
feedback on my budget to finds ways to save
« on: March 27, 2015, 02:49:30 PM »
Hello everyone! I'm a newbie to this site and forum. Very interested in learning more on creating FI.  My dilemma is i'm trying to figure out ways to save to be able to max out wife's 401k, my 403b and my ira.  I would like to get some ways to save money in my budget and some direction to go forward.  So here is our budget:

my income                                     

1368 gross
40.44 hsa
161.79 health ins,dental vision
82.11 403b 6% up to match
183.58 taxes
900.51 biweekly net income

my spouse
1384 gross
109 401k profit match i think 2% or more??
271 taxes
982 biweekly net income   

expenses
958 mortgage-15 yr @ 3.75%
125 electric
68 gas
66 water qrtly
160 gasoline two cars
92 car insurance usaa son turned 18 on my ins. liability on my 2 cars, full on his
100 cell phone 4 lines me,wife, both kids no land lines service through crickett wireless
83 cable internet
800 groceries 4 person me, wife and both kids
60 dining
53 school lunches daughter
40 hairs ranges from month to month
71 life ins term
74 gym dues we go 6 days a week really only outlet we do
5 newspaper coupons
25 ing credit line- owe 700.00
95 weekly auto to emergency fund roughly 1000 balance now-380 a month
55 Christmas fund monthly-savings
135 car replacement monthly-savings
50 misc to fund school functions
45 supplements

3445 total expenses

3764 income
3445 expenses
319 left over

to explain some things in budget:
my wife income is usually the same at 982 per biweekly wk, and mine is same as 900 biweekly
I use to have an emergency fund of 10k, but due to me doing a career change, death in the family, and engine went out on one of my cars, we rebuilding some what.. I use to have Verizon and was paying 260 a month before cricket