Author Topic: Favorite Teacher/Favorite Lesson EVER  (Read 4436 times)

nirvines88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Favorite Teacher/Favorite Lesson EVER
« on: February 28, 2015, 02:59:12 PM »
I'm a teacher and always looking for further inspiration/advice to do my job better. I want to hear about the best education experiences of the MMM forum folks, especially ones that I can steal and use in my classroom.

For this thread, include:

1) A brief description of your favorite classroom teacher and why that teacher was great at his/her job.
2) What was your favorite lesson as a student? This should include information about what was being taught in the lesson and the type of lesson, such as lecture, group work, making a video, skits, hands on activity, etc.

Notes for part 2:
*Your favorite lesson does not necessarily have to come from your favorite teacher mentioned in part 1.
**Make sure that it's actually a lesson where you LEARNED something.
***I teach history, so bonus points if you include your favorite history lesson in part 2!

nirvines88

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Favorite Teacher/Favorite Lesson EVER
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2015, 03:05:06 PM »
I'll start!

1) My high school European history teacher.  She lectured nearly everyday for nearly the whole class, but she was super passionate about her subject matter, funny, and not afraid to tell us the scandalous details of various European figures' personal lives (e.g. the sex lives of European monarchs, who had the consistent habit of marrying their cousins!).  She also challenged us to become better listeners, note takers, writers, critical thinkers, and to think like a historian.