Author Topic: Family Drama - advice please  (Read 8051 times)

CanadianMustache

Family Drama - advice please
« on: February 09, 2014, 02:32:38 AM »
Hi

Long story short, I come from a big family and all of my siblings are either in jail, just out of jail, or doing criminal things. One brother was "scared straight" in jail, and has been doing well since getting a good job and looking at education options (I am closest and have the most in common with him). But 2 kids doing well out of 7 kids are not good odds for my parents. My mother has full blown Narcissistic personality disorder and is the queen of emotional blackmail, abusing people for money etc.

I am the black sheep of this family because I just don't fit in. I have a master's degree (full scholarship), a good job, and am a regular volunteer. I always try to be kind, generous (without giving money, but nice christmas and birthday gifts for the kids) and polite to them (no matter how rude my mother gets). But no matter how good I am to them, it's never good enough. For example, one brother who is in prison, keeps sending me letters asking for money and reading materials etc., when I told him I had given enough and couldn't give more.

I generally only see my family at holidays and birthdays because they all live over an hour away and I am also worried about negative influences on my kid.

I am really upset to find out that the sister I thought had it together (going to university, has a good job), is just as bad. She was staying with us for a week because she lives outside of town, and my mother was picking her up regularly so they could go "shopping". I found out after the fact that my mother and her were stealing from stores. My mother told her "if it isn't money, it's not stealing." And she brought this stuff into my house afterward! I found out after the fact, or I don't know what I would have done. Call the police on them probably because I am at my wits end with these people.