Author Topic: Family clothing budget? Spending breakdowns?  (Read 5162 times)

KBecks

• Handlebar Stache
Family clothing budget? Spending breakdowns?
« on: January 15, 2014, 11:41:16 AM »
Hi Everyone,

I wanted to ask you about making a family clothing budget.  I have a husband and 3 little boys.  I believe in having a smaller amount of clothing and most stuff is casual, but at the same time I would like to have nicer options and outfits, with accessories for church and seeing friends and relatives.  Nothing too fancy… but enough.

The three boys grow,  we do hand me downs. They need slim size pants.  They go through shoes and snow boots and pajamas and socks and underwear and mittens, and hats.   

My husband is business casual but he needs to have his clothes refreshed now and then to replace things that are getting too worn-looking.  I am a fitness instructor and need good shoes, and a new pair every 6 mos/year when they start to wear out. 

What would you do for a budget for a family of 5? 

I'm new and not ready for a face punch yet.  This will be the first year we track with Mint.  Thanks!

4alpacas

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Family clothing budget? Spending breakdowns?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2014, 12:23:26 PM »
Can you comb through your spending from last year?  Since you just started using Mint, you could look through old credit card statements (available through your online account) and checking account (also available online) to get an idea of how much you spent.

The best budget takes YOUR needs into consideration, not someone with the same number of family members.  Try to just shave off a little from last year. 
 * Buy used clothes
 * Look into ways to get items for much less/free
 * Make current items last longer

Thegoblinchief

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2014, 02:27:57 PM »
We buy clothing so infrequently that I don't budget for it, personally, but here's a good place to start: