Author Topic: Expensive eyewear / contact lenses  (Read 16724 times)

startingout

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Expensive eyewear / contact lenses
« on: January 21, 2015, 09:21:23 PM »
I'm fairly new to Mustachianism. However, I'm embarrassed to admit how much money I spend on my contact lenses even to non-frugal people. I get these special daily disposable contact lenses that cost $95 for 90 lenses. So they're basically costing me more than $2 a day, 5-6 days a week. I've tried many different types of contacts before, and these are the only ones that don't dry out my eyes. The obvious solution would be to wear glasses instead. However, I hate my current pair of glasses, which I got not too long ago. I don't want to splurge for another pair until my prescription changes. I also don't like wearing my glasses to work. I feel more put together when I'm not pushing my glasses up my nose every 2 minutes. Is $95 too much for about 1.5-2 months worth of contacts? On the bright side, because I throw out my contacts after one wear, I don't need to buy contact lens solution.

gergg

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Expensive eyewear / contact lenses
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2015, 09:37:53 PM »
I do the same thing...cost of doing business in my mind, although I am considering lasik.  Anyway, in case your weren't aware you can use HSA/FSA money and buy them with before tax money.

deborah

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2015, 10:23:43 PM »
Why are you pushing your glasses up your nose every 2 minutes? It sounds like your glasses are not correctly adjusted - go back to where you got them and make them adjust them properly!

GizmoTX

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: January 21, 2015, 11:12:25 PM »
Have you talked to your eye dr about other contact choices? Usually the daily lenses are "training wheels" for the other kinds.