Author Topic: Exercising stock options in a startup shifting to 'lifestyle' business  (Read 1314 times)

kristof

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
I've been working part time for a VC/angel funded startup for a few years and have a sizable chunk of stock options. The business is profitable and has shown solid growth (50%+ per year the last few years), but hasn't gotten big enough to be worth the original investors' time, so the founders are working on buying them out and shifting into a mode where they're no longer actively looking for an acquisition or IPO but would eventually pay dividends to the remaining shareholders (i.e. the founders and anyone that exercised options or doesn't get bought out).

I'm trying to figure out whether/when to exercise some or all of the stock options. I have the option of continuing to work on a part time basis for them to extend the time where I don't have to decide. It's fun and not too stressful work, but I'd need to work a bit below market rate to get this 'perk'. If I left, I'd need to decide within three months how much if any of the options I'd want to exercise.

I'm not looking for a specific answer so much as advice on the right kind of questions to ask and data to collect/analyze, as well as experiences from people that have been in a similar situation or recommendations for professionals who could help me analyze the situation impartially. I can't seem to find too many stories of this kind of shift as most of my friends' experiences involve either the company simply failing or getting acquired.