Author Topic: Exercise.... and anger???  (Read 11551 times)

Forcus

• Pencil Stache
Exercise.... and anger???
« on: April 09, 2015, 09:40:04 AM »
So the wife and I have gone back to the gym. We are both way out of shape. Anyway I noticed something peculiar. When I am consistently working out, I often at any time have much more of a hair trigger / anger issue than I usually do. I'm usually pretty chill unless it's something really upsetting. But with a consistent workout schedule I am much more likely to snap - traffic, work, etc. I believe it's probably a psycho-physiological issue. More blood to the brain, less brain laziness, more aware of things not right in my life or things happening whereas not working out my brain is lazy and passive towards those things. But maybe it's something else. Anyone else experience this?!?!?

kaizen soze

• Stubble
Re: Exercise.... and anger???
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2015, 09:45:00 AM »
I'm not an expert, but you are describing a symptom of overtraining.  If you are exercising with a lot of intensity, you might just need to dial back your workouts.  I happen to suffer from the same thing, although I do not experience anger. I just become lethargic and have trouble sleeping.  Once I dial it back, the symptoms usually go away. 

AlanStache

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2015, 09:52:49 AM »
Having one more thing on your plate that you have to do might be the cause, I know this gets me sometimes.  "After work I have 3.5 hours of 'free time' after work and with the gym I only get 1.5 hr, but I still have to get X,Y,Z,alpha,beta done."  I ended up canceling my gym membership partly because of this, the added stress of needing to get there (paying 30$/mon!!! after all) was to much.  I am doing better running from home and working some kettle bells, not as efficient as a full gym but is a better life balance and less of a time commitment each day.