Author Topic: Estimating my potential job prospects -- NC (and MD/VA?) -- Software Developer  (Read 2142 times)

katekat

• Handlebar Stache
Hi Mustachians!

I'm in the very beginning stages of planning a move to the USA later this year and I'm a software developer (Microsoft stack background; I like it, but I'd also consider changing technologies as long as I could get hired to do so).

I'm really hoping to end up in North Carolina (triangle area) but theoretically at least we're also open to NC/MD/VA as a whole depending on my husband's job search.

I've never lived in the US and I'm certainly getting a bit of imposter syndrome/self-doubt when trying to estimate which jobs in listings I'd be up to scratch for and what kind of salary I could expect. Software developers are paid a lot more highly in the US, I'm aware of that, so I'm trying to bear in mind, but it's still very hard to estimate 'how I measure up' in a market I have no exposure to (and I feel this nagging thought that maybe I'm just not good enough for software dev in the US ...?)

I could do with someone willing to look over my CV or chat to me (not in public forum) about my background who is familiar with these markets, as a software developer or someone who hires them or otherwise connected. Ideally they'd be able to let me know how hireable I will be, what kind of salary expectations I should have, if there's any big gaps in my experience or skillset I really need to fix, etc. I'm not particularly looking for CV/application advice yet as I haven't started re-writing my CV with American eyes in mind and I probably won't be applying to anything for several months. More feedback on how good I/my background would be when presented well. But if people WANT to give advice on these subjects, that's fine.