Author Topic: Credit Cards and Credit Score  (Read 3951 times)

sisyphean

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Credit Cards and Credit Score
« on: February 26, 2016, 08:07:43 AM »
I'm very new to this and have lived my life as a 'buy all the things' type of guy. I live in Oklahoma, so everything has been cheap and have lived with roommates my life. All my extra money went to DVDs and crap. Anyway, I'm in the process of getting debt free. I have 3 credit cards - debt/limit ($700/$1000, $1800/$2700, $900/$1500). My main question is this: When I pay them off, should I close them? I feel like I need a failsafe in case something bad happens and I need $1000. Or is this just going against the Mustachian values?

Closing cards usually drops credit score. Paying off will increase it a lot though. Should I not even worry about credit score anyway?

Sorry if this is a super basic easy question. I'm a baby mustache.

Catbert

• Magnum Stache
Re: Credit Cards and Credit Score
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2016, 09:25:01 AM »
Pay them off then use them lightly (not more than 30% of limit) and pay off monthly.  No reason to get rid of credit cards if you use them responsibly.

aFrugalFather

• Stubble
    • Life/Finance Blog
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2016, 09:29:44 AM »
Pay them off then use them lightly (not more than 30% of limit) and pay off monthly.  No reason to get rid of credit cards if you use them responsibly.

This

catccc

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2016, 10:30:00 AM »
Pay them off, and if you can use responsibly going forward, see if any of them have a decent rewards programs, or if the issuing bank has a card with a decent reward program to which you can convert your current card(s).  This only works if you have spending under control.  We budget closely and put everything on CCs, then pay off entire balance at end of month.