Author Topic: Enough is Enough? Crowdsourcing life advice (Warning: long post)  (Read 6742 times)

Counting_Down

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
TL;DR I work in a high stress, high pay, moderately unfulfilling role in an industry that is in the shitter right now.  I’m early in my career (~3 years) but approximately halfway to FI.  I was laid off early this year and moved to a different city soon after for a new job.  I hate it here and want to move home where house, SO, Family, and friends remain, but that would result in an unstable financial situation for me and SO and could compromise FI plans.  What would you do?

The background I liked my major in college, have been feeling unfulfilled working in the real world with little data, lots of pressure, constant disorganization and fire drills, and high pressure energetic A types.  I always joke I’m a scientist, not an engineer – I want to understand prior to execution.  I was feeling pretty unhappy with my prior job but had been performing well and was being recognized for that.  Layoffs came down day after year end performance review that was glowing and had some talk of a big bonus.  Learned later my direct boss wasn’t even informed of the layoffs, and the manager above fought like hell for me.  Line on a spreadsheet, lesson 1 learned.  Wasn’t sure if I’d stay in industry.  Planned to take time off to think.  But colleagues rallied for me (which meant a lot to me), and I had recruiters swarming me next day.  Got caught up in dealing with that and essentially acquiesced to staying in current industry.  Said I was willing to wait to stay in current city but was terrified I wouldn’t find something.  First job that came along seemed to have a lot of positives for career growth and mentorship, and even though I knew I didn’t want to move, I told myself I could do anything for a little while and took it. Took less than a month to find something, and after accepting got some good leads for opportunities in home city, but felt pressur