Author Topic: Enlightened and freaked out at the same time. Newbie here. --Added Case Study!  (Read 10448 times)

Stellar

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello all,

I am very excited to be a part of this forum.  I love the blog and part of me feels like I was made for this lifestyle of frugality.  I'm very very very bad at anything money related.  In fact, I don't understand anything about 401ks or index stocks.  I will head to the library after work to get some of the 'for dummies' like books on stock index stuff.  Granted, before I even get to that part, i need to start some sort of nest egg and then figure out how to make it work for me.

I started to read the blog after I found it linked from a story about two Canadians who purchased nothing for a year.  I was intrigued.  I recently really began to dig into my own finances.  I really do not have fancy stuff (shoes, clothes, etc) and I consider myself a great bargain shopper.  I make a decent living and have zero to show for it - literally.

The saddest part of all this is that I am almost 40. I've seen case studies and many of them are directed towards youngsters.  I've made lots of financial errors in my life - young folks may have more do overs?

I found the buy nothing for a year thing about four weeks ago and I've made some changes already.  I've put Mint on my phone which makes my accounts much more visible.  I usually live check to check but I have manager to gather over $1000.  I've some CC debt and a car payment, and mortgage. 

I'll stop now as I do not want to seem like a rambling nutbag. 

Thanks for reading.

St-

***************************************************************************************************