Author Topic: Engineers here - What do YOU do?  (Read 13474 times)

SKL-HOU

• Pencil Stache
Re: Engineers here - What do YOU do?
« Reply #50 on: October 31, 2016, 06:45:08 PM »
I'm a mechanical engineer (e.i.t) about a year and a half out of school. I work in O&G as a contractor who consults for small ownership groups, and more so lately, receivership's.

You've had a ton of good replies here. I'll add what I can. I've only worked for small companies in my (short) career. I think I might explode if I had to be forced into a large company (large being anywhere with an HR department or somewhere that might force me to dress a certain way). I do a bit of everything because we are such a small outfit. It has given me a ton of amazing experience in all aspects of oil and gas. Just in the last two weeks I've worked on a drilling floor, written a completion program, analyzed logs, and troubleshot an important gas well on plunger lift etc etc etc.

Best choice I made to influence my career was to volunteer as Mechanical Engineering Club President in my last year of University. It was easily 40+ hours a week of volunteering but it shaped the way I think and act in the workplace more so than anything I did in my schooling. I didn't do it for the resume boost**** but it was ultimately what got me my current position.

****If you do something like this for the purpose of looking good on a resume you will be miserable.

Good luck OP.

I work for a company that has offices all over the world with 90k employees. The department i am in in the location we are at is not at all what you described. I wouldn't be so closed minded if i were you. It really depends on the company/office/location. We don't have to dress a certain way. Small companies can have all kinds of rules too.

rawr237

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #51 on: November 01, 2016, 07:19:07 AM »